According to reports, we are in for some serious changes in 2018 when it comes to traveling from certain states.


Starting in January of 2018, a valid driver’s license will no longer be enough to travel from select places within the United States. A passport, military I.D., green card or permanent resident card will be required in addition to the state issued driver’s license.


Residents of Washington, Maine, Kentucky, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Minnesota, Oklahoma, Montana, and Missouri will not be allowed to fly domestic or international without the extra identification.


Apparently, there is a Real ID Act of 2005 that says the nine stats listed above does not meet the “minimum security standards of the federal government”.


“Effective January 22, 2018, air travelers with identification that does not meet the REAL ID Act requirements and whose state does not have an extension must present an alternative form of identification in order to board a domestic flight. Examples of acceptable forms of identification include U.S. military or dependent ID, DHS trusted traveler cards, airline or airport-issued ID, passport book or passport card, or federally recognized tribal-issued photo ID.

We encourage you to check the REAL ID compliance status of your state on the DHS website and review TSA’s list of acceptable forms of identification. You should also check with your state’s licensing agency about how to acquire a REAL ID-compliant identification card.”


It’s interesting to see this “Real ID Act” be implemented during Trump’s presidency. There may or may not be more to this story but more news is bound to surface. Be sure to pay attention to what’s happening in politics.